Office of Sustainability

You are here

Mission & Vision

We envision an inclusive Lehigh community where sustainability is an integral part of the institutional ethos.  This will inspire ecologically sound, socially just and financially prudent action that improves the well-being of people and the environment, and positions Lehigh as a forward-looking local and global collaborator and leader.

Our mission is to advance solutions to support long term sustainable change in Lehigh’s operations, academics, administration and community.  We will meet the evolving challenges of a changing world, mitigate the effects of climate change and develop and empower future leaders.

The alignment of these sustainability values with our practices embodies Lehigh’s motto,  “Homo  Minister  et  Interpres  Naturae,” which loosely translates to “Man (now interpreted as Humanity), the servant and interpreter of nature.”

Our office is located at 516 Brodhead Ave.

Office Objectives

Leadership: Provide information, resources and strategic guidance to senior administrators, faculty, staff, and students working to integrate sustainability practices and policies into their programs.

Policy Development: Develop policies that promote environmentally sensitive behavior by campus users and environmentally as well as fiscally responsible development and stewardship of campus assets.

Projects & Programs: Create, implement, and manage innovative programs and events, in partnership with other campus units whenever possible, that integrate sustainability into operations, research, curriculum, co-curriculum, and engagement with the broader community.

Monitoring:   Establish metrics and track institutional sustainability performance.

Outreach: Share the University’s sustainability story and encourage the campus community to contribute to its growth and success.



Sustainability Director
Marketing and Communications Specialist
Bethlehem Farmers Market Manager

Sustainable Office Program Assistants

David Ruiz
Sustainable Office Program Assistant
Estefania Ravelo
Sustainable Office Program Assistant
Thaksheel Alleck
Sustainable Office Program Assistant

Sustainability Events Assistants

Sarah Wilhelm
Events Assistants
Daisy Freeman
Events Assistants

Graphic Design Assistants

Max Jikharev
Graphic Design Assistant
Jordan Schrier
Graphic Design Assistant
Becca O'Brien
Graphic Design Assistant
Malika Buribayeva
Graphic Design Assistant

Sustainability Metrics & Reporting Assistants

Ben Murphy- Schmehl
Sustainability Metrics & Reporting Assistant
Dasha Tyshchenko
Sustainability Metrics & Reporting Assistant
Vaniah Barrera
Sustainability Metrics & Reporting Assistant
Vitalik Martyniak
Sustainability Metrics & Reporting Assistant
Paul Firuzie
Sustainability Metrics & Reporting Assistant
Gabriela Birardi
Sustainability Metrics & Reporting Assistant
Christie Ortega
Sustainability Metrics & Reporting Assistant

Photography & Videography Assistants

Ava Niemczyk
Photography & Videography Assistant

Social Media, Marketing, and Communications Assistants

Grace Alto
Social Media, Marketing, and Communications Assistant
Isa Hernandez Arroyo
Social Media, Marketing, and Communications Assistant

Swap Shop Assistants

Jennifer Liu
Swap Shop Assistant

Special Sustainability Projects Assistant

Maggie McLaughlin
Special Projects Assistant
Join the Office of Sustainability Staff